CAMPS

An unforgettable experience

The camps provide unforgettable experiences that promote self-esteem, the ability to dream, and the power to engage with First Nations youth so that they return to their communities with the strength and courage to make their dreams come true and become the best version of themselves.

Force

Pride

Identity

Force

Pride

Identity

New Pathways Camps

Camps in the community

Grand Portage Camp

WHAT IS THE CAMPS INITIATIVE?

The vision of the New Pathways Camps for the future is to make the camp experience available to all First Nations youth in Quebec who wish to take part in it, through our variety of camps: community, urban, outdoor, Grand Portage, etc.

Camps are everyone’s project. Besides the youth, the communities, schools, parents, and local stakeholders are the biggest inspirations and pillars of the camps. The camps are always built and developed with them. They are the experts of their communities, and they hold a key vision for the First Nations youth.

The New Pathways Camps initiative seeks to accompany First Nations youth to connect with their cultural pride, promote self-esteem, and develop the ability to dream and the power to engage so that they can find the strength and courage to make their dreams come true and become the best version of themselves.

for the First Nations youth.
We firmly believe that the young person is the expert of their own experience and the holder of their own truth, culture, and development. They are aware that they have many different inner realities. Through sharing, meeting other people and the opportunity to live new experiences, they can reinvent themselves in a safe space in terms of culture, ideology, and their 2SLGBTQIA+ identities.

At camp, they will be validated in their experiences, celebrated in their differences, encouraged to speak up, and form an opinion on issues that affect them by being aware of other people around them who share similar or different experiences.

The animation team personalizes their interventions based on the rhythm and colours of each young person.

Each child is recognized, seen, heard, and listened to in a safe and loving environment – just like at home.

Nous chérissons le rêve de créer une base de plein air… une caravane...

Camp
in the Community

This camp is an initiative that creates a space for sharing where each youth can have a voice and make a difference. It is designed for youth aged 10 to 14. Reflective, creative, playful, artistic, sports, collaborative and cultural activities are offered.

New Pathways
Camp - Leadership

Each year, the six-day leadership camp allows First Nations youth from across Quebec, selected for their motivation to get involved in their community, to develop new interests through cooperation activities, sports, theatre, team games, cultural activities, and more. They meet people from all over the world, make new friends, and build meaningful and lasting relationships.

The camp is intended to promote self-esteem, the ability to dream, and the power to engage with First Nations youth so that they return to their communities with the strength and courage to make their dreams come true and become the best version of themselves.

Grand Portage
Camp

This camp is an immersive educational setting where multiple cross-curricular skills are developed with a focus on self-confidence, living together, cultural pride, connection to nature, and critical thinking.

The Grand Portage Camp can be adapted to the needs of the community and to the vision of the educational environment. This camp is designed for high school students.

In subgroups, they are invited to create a trail, from tracing and marking the trail to finding a name for it. The Grand Portage team can facilitate up to 4 work sessions per day with groups of up to 20 students.

An inauguration is organized at the end of the week where the whole community is invited to discover the work of the students. We immediately see the pride of having completed the trail, a permanent footprint and a visible impact of their efforts and collaboration.

The camp programming will be co-developed with the community, but will mainly focus on the creation of a trail, including walking in the forest and theoretical teaching on marking trails while respecting nature. In a combined way, a program will be set up around self-confidence, teamwork, the achievement of one’s objectives, perseverance and discussion, all in a culturally relevant, playful and artistic approach. to keep youth and participants motivated and smiling. This project aims to mobilize several community stakeholders. It will require the involvement of a local team (teachers, coordinators, artists, public works, band council, etc.)

The New Pathways Foundation will assume the expenses of an approximate value of $20,000. The community must make a financial commitment to purchase signs for marking the trails and announcing the start/end of the trail, which can represent approximately $4,000.

Please note that we will seek written approval from the Band Council for the granting of an area on the community for the creation of the trail.

The Camps in picture

The Camps in video

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

FACEBOOK GROUP

In order to have a little fun and keep connected, the New Pathways Foundation, in collaboration with the camp animators, has created a new Facebook group that will allow First Nations young people who have already participated in the camps to gather with their friends and companions, to share memories, videos and photos of the leadership camps they experienced TOGETHER.

Stay tuned, the Foundation’s camp facilitators are preparing lots of great surprises.

Financial partners and collaborators

The English version of this site will be available shortly. 

CAMPS

Une expérience inoubliable

Les Camps sont des expériences inoubliables qui visent à promouvoir l’estime de soi, la capacité de rêver et le pouvoir de s’engager auprès des jeunes des Premières Nations afin qu’ils retournent dans leur communauté avec la force et le courage d’agir pour atteindre leurs rêves et développer une meilleure version d’eux-mêmes. 

Leadership, appartenance, fierté

Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Camps en communauté

Camps du Grand Portage

L’initiative des camps c’est quoi?

Les Camps Nouveaux Sentiers ont comme vision d’avenir de rendre disponible l’expérience des camps pour tous les jeunes des Premières Nations au Québec qui en ont l’aspiration, via nos différentes formes des camps; sur communauté, en milieu urbain, Grand Portage, sur base de plein air, etc.

Que les camps deviennent le projet de tous. Pris en charge par les communautés qui souhaiterons déployer leurs énergies pour supporter les jeunes, porter des initiatives de camps et accueillir les projets créer par les jeunes. Redonner la culture des camps aux jeunes des Premières Nations.

L’initiative des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers vise à accompagner les jeunes des Premières Nations à connecter avec sa fierté culturelle, promouvoir l’estime de soi, la capacité de rêver et le pouvoir de s’engager afin qu’ils touchent à leur force et le courage d’agir pour atteindre leurs rêves et développer la meilleure version d’eux-mêmes.

Nous avons la conviction que le jeune est l’expert de sa propre expérience, l’unique détenteur de sa vérité, de sa culture, de son développement et qu’il est en mesure de voir les nombreuses réalités qui le traversent. Il est le seul à savoir comment y faire face et à posséder la capacité de le faire.  Par le partage, la rencontre de l’autre et l’opportunité de vivre de nouvelles expériences, il peut se réinventer et dans un espace sécuritaire tant culturellement, idéologiquement, que sur le plan de ses identités 2SLGBTQIA+.

Au camp, il sera validé dans ses expériences, célébré dans ses différences, encouragé à prendre paroles et à définir son opinion devant les enjeux qui le touche en prenant conscience des autres autour de lui qui partage des expériences similaires ou, bien différentes.

L’équipe d’animation respecte le rythme et personnalise ses interventions en fonction de chacun des jeunes dans ses propres couleurs.

Chaque enfant est reconnu, vu, écouté, entendu, dans un environnement sécuritaire et aimant. Comme à la maison.

Nous chérissons le rêve de créer une base de plein air… une caravane...

Camps
en communauté

Le camp se veut un espace où les jeunes peuvent se réapproprier leur communauté en la réfléchissant ensemble et créant un séjour de camp a leur image, chez eux ou sur une base de plein air. Le camp se veut une initiative qui vient créer un espace de partage de pouvoir où tous peuvent avoir une voix.

Camps
Nouveaux Sentiers

D’une durée de six jours, le camp de leadership permet, à chaque année, à des jeunes des Premières Nations des quatre coins du Québec, sélectionnés pour leur motivation à s’impliquer dans leur milieu, de découvrir de nouveaux intérêts grâce à des activités de coopération, de sports, de théâtre, de jeux d’équipe, d’activités culturelles, etc.

Le camp vise à promouvoir l’estime de soi, la capacité de rêver et le pouvoir de s’engager auprès des jeunes des Premières Nations afin qu’ils retournent dans leur communauté avec la force et le courage d’agir pour atteindre leurs rêves et développer la meilleure version d’eux-mêmes.

Camp
du Grand Portage

Considérant que les camps sont un milieu éducatif immersif où l’on travaille à développer plusieurs compétences transversales et où l’on se concentre sur la confiance en soi, le vivre ensemble, la fierté culturelle, le rapport à la nature et la pensée critique, nous pensons que les ateliers que nous y avons développés, pourraient grandement faciliter le retour en classe suite à une si longue période d’absence. Le Camp du Grand Portage peut se modeler aux besoins de la communauté et s’adapter aux besoins du groupe d’âge privilégié. On vous propose une formule d’une demi-journée de camp en nature consacrée à divers ateliers et à la création du sentier et une demi-journée en classe. Notre idée est de scinder un de vos groupes en deux.  La première moitié consacrera ses matinées au camp du Grand Portage, tandis que l’autre moitié demeurera en classe pour y suivre ses cours réguliers. Dans l’après-midi, ce sera l’inverse, la première moitié ira en classe et l’autre moitié sera en nature, au camp!

La programmation du camp sera co-développée avec la communauté, mais sera principalement axée sur la création d’un sentier, incluant la marche en forêt et l’enseignement théorique sur le balisage de sentiers en respectant la nature. De manière combinée, sera mise en place une programmation autour de la confiance en soi, du travail d’équipe, de l’accomplissement de ses objectifs, de la persévérance et de la discussion, le tout dans une approche culturellement pertinente, ludique et artistique permettant de garder les jeunes et les participants motivés et souriants. Ce projet se veut mobilisateur de plusieurs acteurs de la communauté. Il nécessitera l’implication d’une équipe locale (enseignants, coordonnateurs, artistes, travaux publics, conseil de bande, etc.)

La Fondation Nouveaux Sentiers assumera les dépenses d’une valeur approximative de 20 000$. La communauté doit s’engager financièrement pour les achats des pancartes pour le balisage des sentiers et l’annonce de départ/fin du sentier, ce qui peut représenter environ 4 000$.

Veuillez noter que nous demanderons une approbation écrite du Conseil de bande pour l’octroi d’une zone sur la communauté pour la création du sentier.

Les camps en PHOTO

Les camps en vidéo

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

Parcours des Camps Nouveaux Sentiers

groupe facebook

Afin de briser l’isolement en cette période de confinement et dans le but de s’amuser un peu, la Fondation Nouveaux Sentiers, en collaboration avec les animateurs des camps, a créé un nouveau groupe Facebook qui permettra aux jeunes des Premières Nations ayant déjà participé aux camps de se rassembler avec leurs amis et leurs accompagnateurs, de partager des souvenirs, des vidéos et des photos des camps de leadership qu’ils ont vécu ENSEMBLE.

Restez à l’affût, les animateurs des camps de la Fondation préparent pleins de belles surprises.

Partenaires financiers
& collaborateurs